If you are like many North Carolina residents, you get in the car to run errands, go to work and take the children to school almost automatically. You may not realize how much you rely on driving until you do not have a license. The team at Curcio Law Group, PLLC often represents clients whose license suspension is more than inconvenient; it affects their ability to get to work and provide for their children’s needs.
FindLaw states that it is against the law to drive a vehicle without a valid driver’s license in all 50 states. In most cases, the Fourteenth Amendment ensures you receive a notice and a hearing before license revocation or suspension. However, if an officer arrests you for driving while under the influence, the suspension of your driver’s license may be automatic.
North Carolina’s drinking and driving laws are among the strictest in the nation. If your blood alcohol level is at least .08 percent or .04 percent as a commercial driver, you are driving illegally. Not only will you have to deal with a criminal case, but you will also need to address the driver’s license suspension through the Department of Motor Vehicles, per the implied consent laws.
Your sentencing depends on the level of the DWI charges. The least serious is level five; level one is aggravated. Even with a level five charge, you still may receive up to a one-year license suspension. The judge weighs the mitigating circumstances and whether you have a history of driving while under the influence when making his or her decision. Depending on the situation, there may be other options than a full suspension, based on your needs. Visit our webpage for more information on this topic.